Revenue Division

The duty of the Revenue Division of the Tax Administrator's Office is to collect the following County revenues: ad valorem taxes, pet fees, fire taxes, school taxes, fire fees and motor vehicle taxes in accordance with Chapter 105 of the North Carolina General Statutes. The Revenue Division also collects water and sewer charges, landfill fees and miscellaneous utility fees. Vann Harrell, Revenue Division Director, leads the Revenue Division staff of 14.

Payment for the following can be made in person at the customer service counter or at the drive up payment drop box on Crowell St. behind the Old Post Office Building, which is located in front of the Union County Judicial Center.

  • Real Estate and Personal Property Tax Bills
  • Delinquent Motor Vehicle Tax Bills
  • Current and Delinquent Water and Sewer Bills
  • Landfill Fees
  • Miscellaneous Utility Bills
  • Gross Receipts Taxes

Payments should be mailed to the address on the bill or to:

Union County Tax Collector
PO Box 38
Monroe, NC 28111-0038

Property tax payments (except registered motor vehicles) are due September 1st and must be paid by January 5th to avoid interest charges. If mailed, payments must be postmarked by the US Postal Service on or before January 5th to avoid interest charges. If January 5th falls on the weekend taxes are due the following Monday.   Interest charges are 2% if paid January 6th through 31st and an additional ¾% each month thereafter.

Effective September 1, 2013, property taxes on registered motor vehicles are now paid at the time of registration or renewal of your existing license plate.  Please see the tab below for additional important information.


Union County Tax Administration
Revenue Division
500 N. Main Street, Suite 119
PO Box 38
Monroe, NC 28111-0038
Phone: 704-283-3848
Fax: 704-283-3897

Vann Harrell, Revenue Division Director
Penny Hinson, Deputy Tax Collector Supervisor II
Mitzie Baucom, Deputy Tax Collector Supervisor I

For questions or comments please email the Tax Administrator's Office at:

Copyright 2017 by Union County, North Carolina

Union County North Carolina does not endorse content on external sites (Please read Disclaimer)  ::   Webmaster