• Recycling Latex Paint

Solid Waste Division

UCPW operates facilities for the disposal of municipal solid waste (garbage), construction and demolition (C&D) debris, yard waste and other recyclables. These facilities are co-located at the County’s Solid Waste Management Center on Austin Chaney Road. These facilities are primarily designed to serve the needs of commercial haulers that pick up garbage and recyclables from the residents and businesses within our community, although accommodations are made for the individual to dispose of these materials.

Union County also operates six residential waste drop-off sites located throughout unincorporated Union County to provide a convenient location for residents that do not utilize curbside collection programs, to dispose of their garbage and recyclables. Union County does not provide solid waste collection services within municipal limits and does not provide curbside collection of MSW or recyclables within unincorporated Union County. 

Unincorporated residents may contract directly with any number of independent solid waste collection service contractors within the County for these services.  City of Monroe, Town of Indian Trail, The Village of Lake Park, Town of Marshville, Town of Stallings, Town of Waxhaw, and Town of Wingate provide curbside pickup for their residents.   Residents of these towns should contact their municipalities for further information.


Landfill Hours of Operation

Monday through Friday: 7 am - 4 pm

Saturday: 8 am - Noon

Except: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day


Commercial Collection Office - 704-233-5334

Residential Collection Office - 704-512-9821

Recycling Office - 704-296-4213

Copyright 2017 by Union County, North Carolina