Union County Historic Preservation Commission

Union County Courthouse circa 1968
Postcard of Union County Courthouse
circa 1968

The Union County Historic Preservation Commission is dedicated to identifying and preserving the built environment of Union County. It shares space with and support for the Heritage Room with the Carolinas Genealogical Society and the Union County Historical Society. The Commission welcomes inquiries and applications for specific buildings over 50 years old from the owners of the buildings. In determining whether a property is worthy of designation, the Commission depends on the architectural survey book Sweet Union and the opinion of the State Preservation Office, as well as other experts.

Contact & Information

The commission’s regular meeting time is 1:30 p.m. on the first Thursday of the months of February, May, August, and November in the Heritage Room at the historic courthouse.  For more information, call the Heritage Room at 704-289-6737 or email us at

Current Members
Member Name: Appointed by:  Term Expires:
Barbara Moore, Chairman
Union County
Crystal Crump, Secretary
Union County
John Dickerson, Treasurer
Union County
Melvin Faris Monroe
Mary Lou Gamble Monroe 2020
Dale Loberger, Vice Chairman
Monroe 2018
Steven Long Union County
Copyright 2017 by Union County, North Carolina

Union County North Carolina does not endorse content on external sites (Please read Disclaimer)  ::   Webmaster